Binance Exchange Review (2023) Best Crypto Exchange?

Binance is the world’s most popular cryptocurrency exchange with the largest organic trading volume. It has a wide range of cryptocurrencies being traded along with powerful trading tools such as leveraged trading, options trading and lending platform. The rapid addition of new features to Binance has often amazed experts in the cryptocurrency industry, with many critics commenting Binance CEO Zhao “CZ” Changpeng’s rapid response to events. On top of the main Binance.com exchange, the company also has several uniquely featured versions including US branch Binance US, and Binance DEX. In this review, we highlight each of the various features and controversies that you need to know.

Key Advantages of Binance

  • World’s most popular exchange with the highest trade volume.
  • Offers the largest range of products and services with some not even found elsewhere.
  • Maintains insurance against theft and hacks.

Key Features and Functions

Binance (new) Advanced trading interface

Binance (Binance.com)

The main exchange is Binance (Binance.com), it is most popular and has the full suite of services offered by the Exchange. Key features include:

  • Most supported cryptocurrencies (over 1,000 coins).
  • Owing to its popularity, it has the highest trading volume worldwide.
  • Access to Binance Launchpad, an Initial Exchange Offering (IEO) platform for listing of new cryptocurrencies.
  • Stop-Limit Function. The order will be executed once the given stop price has been reached. So the stop-limit order will become a limit order to buy or sell at the limit price or better.
  • Binance Lending. Users can hold their cryptocurrencies on the Exchange for a specified time period and earn interest.

Binance US (Binance.us)

Binance US (Binance.us) was Binance’s answer to US regulations barring citizens from trading on Binance. Key features include:

  • US regulation compliant
  • Has fiat to cryptocurrency trading pairs. Users can use USD to buy cryptocurrencies directly on the Exchange.
  • Bank account linking is available.

History of Binance

Binance was founded by Changpeng (CZ) Zhao in 2017. The name comes from a combination of the words “Binary” and “Finance”. Binance is originally from China. However, due to the harsh crypto regulation procedures in the country, the Exchange moved to more conducive jurisdictions outside China.

Currently, Binance is based in multiple jurisdictions. Their main site offers support in English, Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Russian, Spanish, and French.

Name:
Binance
Fiat Options:
USD, EURO
Rating:
4.5 Star Rating
Name:
Coinbase
Fiat Options:
Generally accepts your local currency
Rating:
3.5 Star Rating
Name:
Bybit
Fiat Options:
-
Rating:
4.1 Star Rating
Name:
Phemex
Fiat Options:
USD
Rating:
4.3 Star Rating
Name:
FTX
Fiat Options:
USD, TRY, AUD, GBP, EUR & HKD
Rating:
4.5 Star Rating
Name:
OKEx
Fiat Options:
USD, EUR, GBP and more
Rating:
4.4 Star Rating
Name:
PIT Exchange
Fiat Options:
EUR, USD, GBP & TRY
Rating:
4.5 Star Rating

Supported Countries

The international site Binance (Binance.com) is supported in most countries except the USA.

US citizens can ONLY trade on Binance US (Binance.us), except for those from the following states: Connecticut, Hawaii, Idaho, Louisiana, New York, Texas, and Vermont. Note however that Binance.us has fewer supported cryptocurrencies and features compared to the international site. This is so that Binance.us is compliant with US Laws.

Supported Cryptocurrencies and Payment Methods

Binance (Binance.com)

Binance supports trading over 1300 cryptocurrencies including its own cryptocurrency, Binance Coin (BNB). Learn more about Binance Coin (BNB).

Binance accepts payments using credit card (Visa and MasterCard), debit card and cryptocurrency. However debit and credit card payments are restricted in the following locations:

  • US: New York, Connecticut, Hawaii, Georgia, New Mexico and Washington;
  • Several Chinese banks; and
  • Some countries entirely e.g. Afghanistan, Iraq and Libya.

Users can only pay USD or EUR to buy Bitcoin (BTC), Ethereum (ETH), Litecoin (LTC), Bitcoin Cash (BCH/BCHABC) or Ripple (XRP) using debit and credit cards on Binance.

Binance is a crypto-to-crypto exchange only. So users must buy first the above cryptocurrencies using fiat, before they can trade with other cryptocurrencies on the Exchange.

Binance US (Binance.us)

Binance US only supports around 50 cryptocurrencies.

Users can use their debit cards to directly transfer USD from their bank accounts into their Exchange account via ACH or wire transfer.

Deposit and Withdrawal Fees

On Binance.com fees are charged based on the cryptocurrency to be transferred. For example, Bitcoin (BTC) withdrawals cost 0.0005 BTC per transaction. There are no deposit fees.

For fiat transfers, on Binance US, USD wire withdrawals cost USD15/USD35 for domestic or international withdrawals respectively. Deposits generally and ACH withdrawals are free.

Click here for the fee structures of Binance.com and Binance US respectively.

Trading Fees

Trading fees for Binance.com and Binance US are generally 0.1% for makers and takers with the following exceptions:

  • Binance.com and Binance.us: Users with larger trade volume or hold a specified amount of BNB are eligible to become VIPs. Higher VIP tiers give you lower trading fees. There is a 25% trading fee discount if fees are paid using BNB.

Binance has competitive trading fees compared to some other cryptocurrency exchanges. For example:

  • Coinbase: 0.50% of the transaction plus a further Coinbase Fee depending on the transaction amount. Side note: did you know you can avoid their expensive withdrawal fees? Find out more at CoinBase Fees- How to Avoid Them?
  • Kraken: 0.16% (maker) / 0.26% (taker) 
  • Bittrex: 0.25% (maker and taker)
  • Poloniex: 0.15% (maker) / 0.25% (taker) (Note: Poloniex has discounted their fees to 0.00% until 31 December 2019)
  • OceanEX: 0.10%, discounts are offered for payments with their OceanEx coin.
  • KuCoin: 0.10%, discounts are offered for payments with their KCS coin.
  • Huobi: 0.20%
  • OKEx: 0.10% (maker) / 0.15% (taker)
  • BitMEX: -0.025% (maker) (i.e. a rebate is given) / 0.075% (taker). This Exchange however only deals in margin trading.
  • BitFinex: 0.10% (maker) / 0.20% (taker) 
  • BitMax: 0.085% (maker and taker) for larger market cap coins, 0.10% for other coins

Binance KYC

Users do not have to complete the Binance KYC process in order to use the Exchange. Those who did not complete the KYC process will only be able to use the following features: fund withdrawal, order cancellation, position closing, and redemption.

Otherwise, Binance has 2 tiers of KYC status- “Verified” and “Verified Plus”. For “Verified” status, users will need to submit their personal information, government-issued identification document, and complete the facial recognition process. This entitles users to fiat deposit and withdrawal limits of US$50k daily, unlimited crypto deposits, up to 100 BTC in crypto withdrawals, unlimited P2P transactions and the LPD/OTC/Binance card.

For “Verified Plus” KYC status, users will also need to provide proof of address. This entitles users to all the same functions as the “Verified” status. Verified Plus users also have a higher fiat deposit and withdrawal limit at US$200k per day (instead of US$50k only).

Controversies

Like any exchange, Binance is no stranger to controversies, making people question if Binance is safe. Let’s take a look at some recent controversies.

Binance hack: 7,000 Bitcoins stolen

In early May 2019, Binance informed the public that hackers withdrew 7,000 Bitcoins (then worth about USD40 million) in a single large scale security breach. The Exchange says that hackers used a variety of techniques such as phishing and viruses to obtain its users’ login data.

The Exchange used its SAFU fund- their emergency insurance fund to cover any affected users’ losses in full.

Binance KYC Data Breach

In August 2019 a hacker alleged they had obtained a huge portion of the Exchange’s Know Your Customer (KYC) data. The hacker set up several Telegram groups allegedly featuring this private data. The hacker also demanded a total of 300 Bitcoins (then worth around USD3.5 million) from the Exchange or else they would release more data.

Binance claims the leaked data was from February 2018 when the Exchange was using a third-party service provider for processing its KYC verifications. However, some commentators say that Binance should bear most of the blame for the incident.

To remedy the situation, Binance offered a reward to anyone who can provide information to identify the hacker. So far, the hacker has not been found.

Meanwhile, the Exchange offered lifetime VIP membership, and preferential trading fees and services to its affected users.

Binance accused of being a conduit for money launderers?

According to an investigation by Reuters, from 2017 to 2022, buyers and sellers on a Russian darknet drugs market known as “Hydra” had been using Binance to make and receive cryptocurrency payments worth US$780 million. The website is only accessible via the Darkweb and generally accepts cryptocurrency as a form of payment.

In response to the Reuters report, Binance disputes that the figures were “inaccurate and overblown” since it wrongly included indirect cryptocurrency flows in arriving at its figures. Representatives of Binance also state that they are seeking to further improve its ability to detect illegal activity on its Exchange and working closely with law enforcement to dismantle criminal networks that utilise cryptocurrencies.

Since August 2021, Binance has stepped up on its know-your-customer (KYC) requirements including requiring both new and existing users to submit identification in order to use most of the features on the Exchange. According to figures from Crystal Blockchain– a blockchain analytics firm, since Binance tightened its KYC requirements the monthly total of funds linked to Hydra Market that have allegedly flowed through Binance has decreased significantly from over US$30 million per month to less than US$1 million per month in the first quarter of 2022.

Is Binance safe in 2023?

Binance, as the world’s largest exchange would clearly be a prime target for hackers. Indeed the 2 hacks in 2019 demonstrated this. However, Binance has an asset fund as insurance, which the exchange used to fully compensate victims of the said hacks.

Binance has also provided proof-of-reserves showing they have sufficient funds to cover users’ assets 1:1 plus additional reserves. To learn more about the audit of Binance’s reserves, check out: Binance Audited by Mazars, Confirms Bitcoin Reserves are Fully Collateralized

Binance also deserves credit for being able to overcome every wave of bad press or rumours coming its way so far. In December 2022, there were rumours Binance had insufficient reserves to meet clients’ deposits. During that time, many traders withdrew funds from exchanges, which Binance nevertheless fully and efficiently handled.

Tweet from CZ on 13th December 2022

So is Binance exchange safe in 2023? It would appear so, as they have previously fully compensated victims of hacks, provided proof of reserves, and handled large volumes of withdrawals.

However, we emphasize that no exchange is 100% safe. Hence we emphasize the importance of removing your cryptocurrencies off of exchanges and storing them in offline hardware wallets. It is the only way in which you keep full custody of your cryptocurrencies.

Which hardware wallet should you get? Check out our comparison of the top 3 hardware wallets on the market. Or individual detailed reviews for the Ledger Nano X, Trezor Model T and KeepKey.

You can also check out my video review comparing the Ledger Nano S (the predecessor to the Nano X), Trezor Model T, and KeepKey here.

Conclusion: Binance Pros and Cons

Pros

  • Exchange with the world’s largest trading volume.
  • Track record of taking steps to remedy affected users when hacked.
  • Competitive trading fees.
  • Large amount of supported cryptocurrencies.
  • Offers lots of unique services and features.

Cons

  • Creating a basic KYC-verified account can take up to 13 days.
  • Available in the US via Binance.US. But this has fewer supported cryptocurrencies and features.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Is Binance Jersey closed?

Binance Jersey closed on 31st December 2020 at 23:59 UTC.

What can I do if I still have funds on Binance Jersey?

Users with remaining funds on Binance Jersey can contact Binance’s Customer Service Team to retrieve their funds.

What is Binance DEX?

Binance DEX (Binance.org) is also known as Binance Chain.
Key features include:
It is a decentralized exchange developed on Binance’s own Binance Chain blockchain;
Users maintain custody and control of their private keys and funds. This means that users’ funds are much less vulnerable to hacks or exchange closures; and
Only limit orders are accepted. Unlike other exchanges, Binance DEX does not match orders continuously. Rather, it matches open orders received using a periodic auction.
Learn more about Binance DEX here.

Does Binance require KYC?

Users must complete the KYC process in order to access all the features on the Exchange. Those who have not completed the KYC process are limited to fund withdrawal, order cancellation, position close and redemption functions on the Exchange only.

What is the difference between Binance KYC “Verified” and “Verified Plus”?

For “Verified” status, users will need to submit their personal information, and government-issued identification document, and pass facial recognition. Verified Plus requires additional proof of address, but in return will be entitled to higher fiat deposit and withdrawal limits.

How do I send Bitcoin to Binance?

In your Binance account, go to “wallet”, then under “deposits” click on “crypto deposits”. Select “Bitcoin” and the network you wish to use. Note that different networks may charge different fees. You will see a string of numbers and letters which is your deposit address. Copy and paste this deposit address into the platform or wallet you want to send your Bitcoin from and follow the instructions there.

How do I send crypto to Binance

Your Binance account will have different wallet addresses for different cryptocurrencies. On your Binance account, click “wallet”, and under “deposits” click on “crypto deposits”. Select the cryptocurrency you would like to deposit and the network you wish to use to process the transaction. Copy and paste the deposit address into the platform or wallet you want to send your cryptocurrency from and follow the instructions there. Before sending, CHECK carefully the deposit address, amount, and network so as to avoid any losses.

REVIEW OVERVIEW
Services Offered
Cryptocurrency Support
Trading Fees
Security
Previous articleBybit Exchange Guide and Review (2023)
Next articleShardeum ($SHM) Token Airdrop Guide: Earn $1500 for Free
Angela loves cryptocurrency, technology that improves our lives...and food. Anything that merges these worlds together is even better.
binance-exchange-reviewBinance is the world's most popular cryptocurrency exchange with the largest organic trading volume. It has a wide range of cryptocurrencies being traded along with powerful trading tools such as leveraged trading, options trading and lending platform.

67 COMMENTS

  1. I got an email from binance saying that my IPA siting been changed and if I did not do that I should deactivate my account and contact binance I check my account and sure my XRP coins disappeared so I deactivated my account the problem that I been trying to contact binance but no reply multiple emails and multiple requests and no reply
    My account is locked and I have no access to my funds
    I got screwed stay away

  2. Hello Boxmining, do you notice that at Binance the price of BTC and ETH are always low vs other exchanges. At Binance, the coins are not traded against a fiat currency and all trades are pair trades against BTC and ETH. So if you deposit ETH or BTC, you would effectively get less value for your coins to be traded. You can try to game them by going the other way, but it would be difficult because most exchanges do not carry the exotic coins so you got to trade it back to BTC and ETH. In summary, only they can get you but you can’t get them. Brilliant strategy by them. Horrible for clients. Also, if only coins are traded and no currency ever leave, it is mathematically impossible for them to collapse absent from a hack, of course. Very smart! Do you agree? Thanks!

  3. Binance is great, BITTREX on the other hand ripped me off, have 100k USD worth of bitcoin lost. They are a exit scam. If you have been ripped off please join my class action

  4. hey admin thanx for post.
    Binance is cryptocurrency exchange platform. This platform is available for all users but it is mainly focused on the Chinese market. Binance is basically a new Chinese company formed by a well trusted and a well-trained team.
    i find this on http://coinraja.com/binance-exchange-review/
    you should also check this.

  5. I have some referral BTC in my account in BINANCE how to i redeem them ?
    they are not added to my BTC currency automatically .

    Thanks

  6. Here are Binance exchange review. Binance is a crypto to crypto exchange with a focus on low trading fees. By being a purely cryptocurrency exchange and not having to deal with fiat, they can deal with less regulatory issues. It also has an impressive listing of Initial Coin Offerings and altcoins.

  7. It has been hard losing a lot of money to Binary Options and Cryptocurrency Trading, my money has now been recovered thanks to a Recovery Boss. You can reach me to share my experience. MAGGIEALDER12 at gmail dot com

  8. Thanks for sharing! I just knew Binance is the popular Cryptocurrency Exchange Platform but by reading this article I am surprised to see binance.je, Binance. us,etc

  9. Thanks for sharing updated information and technological advancements available on Binance Exchange. it is very useful for us.

  10. Hi, Explained very well about Binance. I knew Binance exchange makes the highest turn over compared to any other exchanges. But this article has explained much more about Binance.
    Thanks for sharing.

  11. Binance is the most trusted company. Most of my client and myself believe in Binance. In your article, you shared much more. Thanks for sharing. Really Appreciate

  12. Hello; you have opened a very successful topic. That’s very good that the people getting awareness via your page.
    I have been following your page for a long time and I find it really useful. I am very happy to read the text of valuable people like you. I wish you continued success. Yours truly.

  13. We are lucky to read this useful information. Everyone knows that binance is a game player in the digital space, and one of the world’s largest crypto exchanges.

  14. It really helps in understanding a detailed overview of Binance. Thanks for the insights

  15. The article you have shared about the Binance exchange is very interesting. Thanks for the article. keep sharing like this.

  16. The article you have shared about the Binance exchange is very interesting. Thanks for sharing the article. Keep sharing!

  17. Hey! Very Informative article. It sounds really great. Thanks! for this article which helps many entrepreneurs to start a crypto exchange platform like Binance in the future.

  18. Thanks for sharing amazing article about a popular Binance Crypto Exchange this would be very encouring for the entrepreneur to launch their own exchange like Binance.

  19. I truly appreciate the place of this article. I have been misled a couple of times on the web and it is depleting with cash and persistence. A portion of the ones you list in some cases get individuals that are more artless. Which is anything but something awful since that is individuals that tricksters endeavor to deceive. Keep doing awesome!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.